Consequences

It’s interesting to contemplate the subject of “What is consequence of sin?”

When you live in deliberate sin, when you choose to pursue it while pushing God to the back of your mind, what are consequences and what are just sucky things that happen?

My husband carried on an affair for 4.5 years. In that time, he changed jobs several times, we moved 5 times, had a car reposessed, had utilites turned off, and various other stinky things. Most recently, and shortly after I found out the affair was still carrying on, he lost his job. It was a fairly high paying job and he is our primary source of income. I truly believe that it was a consequence of his actions. One of his big complaints with me was always money and my lack of “drive”. The other woman makes very good money and told him that he wouldn’t have to work if he left me for her. I only tell you that to illustrate the point that money was a big focus for my husband. The other woman would buy him things, give him money, pay his bills. I feel like God took his money away to show him that there are more important things.

For the love of money is the root of all evil: which while some coveted after, they have erred from the faith, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows. ” -1 Timothy 6:10

Another consequence of this particular sin, is the damage that has been done to our marriage. He has to live with how badly he hurt me. He willingly surrenders any privacy he used to have. He caters to my insecurity and goes out of his way to try to help make amends. These are obvious consequences, but are God’s consequences so obvious?

It doesn’t matter what kind of sin you are embroiled in. Big or small. Rest assured, they will eventually be uncovered, and there will be consequences of some sort.

 But if you do not do so, then take note, you have sinned against the Lord; and be sure your sin will find you out. ” – Numbers 32:23

My sin?  My sins are many.  Pride, laziness, disrespecting my husband, the list is long.  The consequences for my sin?  Almost too much to bear.  I created an environment of hostility and disrespect that made it that much easier for my husband to seek out someone else.  All of our sins have consequences.

Sin may look good, feel good, smell and taste good. However, it will turn bitter in your stomach and someday, someone will find out. Are you prepared for the potential fall out? For the consequences? For some people, they may be minor. For others, they may be quite severe. It is all up to God’s plan for you. I promise you, the temporary “feel good” of sin is just that. Temporary.

Please. I beg you to turn from your sin. Turn back to God. Give yourself over to Him and His love and discipline. If you don’t know him as Savior, I beg you to meet Him. And don’t, for one second, think you can convince God that what you are doing is not sin. He’s God.

I would love you to share your opinions.  And if you like what you read, please share!


Leave a comment