I Love Fall

It’s that time of year.  The leaves are turning and falling, and so are the temperatures.  I love this time of year.  I always have.  Yesterday, we got our first bit of snow for the year, with more showing up this morning.

fallmountainsI crave hot chocolate, a warm blanket, chili, and all the pumpkin foods…lol.  I would love nothing more than to have a fire burning in the fireplace, snuggled up on the couch, working on crocheting an afghan or a scarf.  Sadly, since we moved, I cannot find my crochet hooks.  I guess I will have to get some more.  This is the season that my crafty side comes out to play.  I decorated my mantle in a fall theme and I’m planning what I will do with it as soon as Thanksgiving is over.  Then begins the Christmas decorating.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE Christmas decorating.  I want my house to look like Christmas vomited all over it.  I love the tree, the wreaths, the garland, the lights, the sparkle.  I love the magic of the Christmas season.  I look forward to celebrating the birth of my Savior, Jesus Christ.  I look forward to giving gifts in celebration and in homage to the gift of my God to the world.

Everything about this season screams comfort to me.  Burrowing in the blankets to ward off the cold.  Comfort foods that warm the soul.  The warm welcoming scents; the pumpkin, apple, cinnamon smells.  The crackling of the fire as it burns and mesmerizes.  The comfort of knowing my Savior was born for me.  Of knowing that God loves me just that much.  To me, fall and winter are the most beautiful of the seasons.  They represent, to me, the decay and death of my old self.  And under the cold and death hides the promise of rebirth.  The comfort of Thanksgiving.  The annual reminder of all we have been blessed with.  Yes, we should acknowledge that every day, and I try my best.  But it’s also time to celebrate with our families, those blessings.

As we enter this season, think on the things that you have been given.  Not necessarily material things, though those certainly matter, but on the “little” things.  The health of your children, your job, family that loves you, a church that preaches truth, the clean air, a good night’s sleep.  Think on and appreciate these things, and your heart will fill gratitude.  It’s hard to be angry or miserable, with a grateful heart.

Leave a Reply

