What are you worth???

So, I am struggling a little bit today. I am struggling with my sense of self-worth and my worth to other people.

My husband told me that one of the major things that drew him to his former affair partner, was her drive, her motivation. Me, on the other hand, dropped out of college, became a cosmetologist, but quit that, too. Now, I work a crummy part time job making almost no money and really am too old to start the whole college thing over again and have it end up profitable. My husband recently lost his very good paying job and I am no help at all. All of this combines to really make me feel pretty worthless.

But as I sit here writing this, I am coming to the realization that my worth doesn’t come from him. Or from her. Or from me. My value comes from God. He sees me as beautiful. He sees me as wonderful. He values me enough to have sent his only Son to die so that I might live forever. He created man in His image. Woman was created from man. Therefore, I am created in His image. God doesn’t make mistakes. People do, and I certainly have, but never God.

For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. ” Psalm 139:13-15

So please, if you feel like you are less of a woman, remember this verse. Remember this verse, and remember that living as pure a life as possible, and following Him and loving Him with all your heart, makes you so precious and beautiful and wonderful that it trumps anything that might make you doubt that. No matter what the world, or what other people throw at you or put you through, character, integrity, and faithfulness wins every time. Praise God.

2 thoughts on “What are you worth???

Leave a Reply

